The Washing of Rebirth and the Sins of this Generation

But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.

Titus 3: 4-7 (NIV)

This year for Good Friday I’ve been thinking a lot about how Christ cleanses us completely and totally from all our sins once and for all. He does so not because we merit it, but because of his grace.

When I was getting ready to go on my LDS mission, I frequently went to the temple in preparation. There was a lot that I loved about the temple, but one line gave me some pause. During the initiatory ceremony I was told that I was being washed “that you may may become clean from the blood and sins of this generation through your faithfulness.” This same theme was repeated again at the start of the endowment ceremony.

This line puzzled me a bit at first. I had been baptized in the name of Jesus, hadn’t I? Wasn’t baptism in his name enough to fully cleanse me? Why was I being promised that cleansing would only come in the future?

As I studied this line, I learned that it came from D&C 88 where some of the returning missionaries are declared “clean from the blood of this wicked generation.” I therefore came to believe that through diligent missionary service I would finally be fully cleansed. This belief caused me a lot of anxiety as a missionary where I felt a lot of pressure to speak to every single person I came across because of my duty to preach and rid my garments of their blood.

When I came back from my mission I felt triumphant and confident that I had finally been fully cleansed from the blood and sins of my generation. Yet when I would fall back into more worldly patterns like wasting time playing video games, it would make me wonder if I had done enough to become and remain fully clean.

All of this guilt and anxiety was unnecessary and a sign that I had not yet understood and embraced the true Gospel of grace.

One of the greatest truths of the Gospel of Christ is that “he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.” We did not do any righteous thing to merit salvation. Our good deeds are not required as a payment. It is a gift that is freely given to us.

Christ “saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior.” When we are saved, we are washed with the spirit and born again. After this birth, we are truly a new creation free from the sins of this and any other generation. This healing and cleaning is given generously to all who are in Christ, not only to those who have proven their loyalty. It is a free gift.

It makes no sense to talk about a partial or incomplete cleansing here. Jesus does not save someone part way. As Jesus explained elsewhere, “if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” If we are in Christ we are made “completely clean” John 13:10.

This free gift is given so that, “having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.” In other words we are meant to live in bold assurance and hope of eternal life. And from that place of assurance we can serve our God and bless others.

That is what I could not have as a Latter-day Saint. I had to wonder had I truly done enough to prove my faithfulness to God.

I praise Jesus for the great and complete salvation that he once and for all delivered for me. He did so even though I could never repay or merit it. Glory and honor and praise be to the lamb forever!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started